An individual can do nothing to help improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of improving the environment has grown in importance over the past few decades. Some people are of the view that this responsibility should be just carried out by governments and immense companies. It seems to me that conserving nature is of a monumental task that all levels of society should work side by side.

There are a number of commitments which have been taken by people due to environmental improvement. These range from separating out their wastes for recycling to using hybrid cars. These measurements not only do the environment keep safe but also ameliorate the hazards which are likely to endanger its condition. For example, by using degradable packing instead of plastic one neither releases harmful chemicals into the atmosphere nor cause soil erosion because of changing to fertilizer.

Furthermore, it is undeniable that governments and major companies play a main role in preserving the environment. Legislation should be adopted to improve the environment and it would be possible to punish offenders. For instance, authorities would impose a massive fine if people dropped their litters in the street. Besides that, they are able to promote individuals' awareness of the dangers that threaten the planet Earth through the media. Admittedly, large factories have the greatest impact on environmental pollution. These factories could minimize their dangerous wastes by processing them and prevent pollutant particle into water and air. As a result, waste management would help them to develop their appreciation for the environment.

Overall, it can be said that although politicians and large companies should assume a great burden in boosting nature, the role of ordinary people should not be neglected. I believe that each person is responsible and have to contribute to environmental development.