Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The issue of recycling of domestic waste has grown in importance over the past few decades. Some people are of the view that enforcing the law is the only method to increase recycling. Personally, I feel that legal legislation is effective, although there are supplementary methods, too.

There is no doubt that the homeowner would not separate their bins if there was any obligation. So that, governments have no choice to impose laws, and punish offenders if necessary. For example, when a householder avoids abiding the rules must pay massive fines and if he repeats this work his sentence would be imprisonment.

Turning to other methods, encouraging householders, for example by using tax incentive, it is more possible that they are willing to dispose of different material to different garbage. Moreover, increasing awareness about how environment expose to danger without waste recycling motivate people to conserve nature. For example, the media can provide information about how to find an appropriate way to dispose of rubbish. Finally, it should be considered that recycling factories play a key role in waste processing. Hence, the more these places use well-equipped systems, the more the home waste will be recycled. As a result, authorities should subsidize these factories to boost their performance.

Overall, it can be said that besides enforcing laws to more recycling other measures like awareness and using high-quality equipment in recycling factories should be taken. It seems to me that all factors besides each other are more powerful than merely strict rules.