The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest.

The advent of the internet has revolutionized the modes of sharing and accessing data which was of unheard earlier. Like many other useful inventions, the ease and speed of sharing information encompass some difficulties as well. I would like to discuss a few such problems and suggest some remedies.

The internet has evolved to a level nowadays that we can share hundreds of thousands pages data in a blink of an eye. This is why the data or subscribed accounts at a common platform pose a great threat if hackers manage to get access to it. For example, various websites require us to fill in a form and provide personal sensitive information such as credit card details, secret questions, and passwords etc. Furthermore, e-banking and online shopping are quite popular these days which provides an opportunity for hackers to steal our personal details.

If all such websites and e-platforms are not properly secured, the hackers might get entry to the secret details and use it in stealing money or permitting unauthorized transfers of money from one account to another. As a result, many such instances are a routine part of newspapers. A complex password pattern with combinations of words, upper/lower case, and a special character could deter an attack aimed at stealing of sensitive information. Another solution could be a mixture of firewalls and antivirus at the server level could infiltrate such spree.

The other major drawback caused by the internet is an addiction to social networking. Many students and workers are wasting their precious time on Facebook, Twitter, and other such pages, to get to know about others. Resultantly, some students do not qualify their exams while employees are losing their employment. The possible remedy is to limit the time spent on the internet and give time to family relationships.

I strongly believe that engaging in meaningful activities will be more beneficial for all of us instead of wasting time on internet