It is inevitable that as technology advances, traditional cultures will be lost. It seems that we cannot have these two things together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of globalization, technology has been playing a major role in transforming lives of billions of people. At the same time, many communities across the world are in a fear of losing their culture with the rise of the technology. I completely disagree with the statement.

First of all, I believe that even though the technology and the culture are interlinked to each other, the former one has little sway in influencing the civilizational attributes because the traditions and values have been integral and inseparable part of human lives over thousands of years. Generally, humans by nature have a tendency to preserve anything that is old and valuable. For example, in India, there are hundreds of different cultures and even after rapid industrialization and scientific development over the last century, most of the ancient tribes and communities are still thriving and embracing their roots.

Secondly, technology helps in preserving the culture. In fact, many ancient societies went extinct because of the inability to preserve their way of life in some form or the other. Without development in the knowledge, it wouldn’t be possible to save the ethos in the long run. For example, if we look at the two oldest surviving civilizations like the Indian and the Chinese, their entire history and culture are preserved and protected in the form architecture, books and art. So, in my opinion, there is no need to vilify the technological achievements that humanity has made.

To conclude, traditional cultures and technology should go hand in hand, we can’t resist the later in the fear of losing tradition.