Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.What problems does this cause?What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

People get influenced by the products which are promoted by the giant companies. Although wealthy businessmen are earning well through this way, people who are running the business of local items are facing a decline in their income. This essay depicts the problems caused by promoted products on the society and numerous ways to motivate people to purchase local products.

Firstly, if more and more people purchase the advertised products then it would be difficult for the local shopkeepers to arrange bread and butter for their family. Thus, it will widen the gap between rich and poor people which will directly affect the economy of that nation. Moreover, people are becoming habituated with the unnecessary shopping because of the marketing strategies of the multi-national companies. These companies are using all the types of communication to influence the tendency of the consumer to purchase the product which they might not need. This could lower the financial position of the citizen. For example, owing to the advertisements for a big sale, a person can purchase a smartphone, even though he owns the cell phones.

However, some measures are required to lower these cynical implications. Government should run awareness programs through which they will tell the benefits of local products to the public. Furthermore, government should allocate some places where local people can sell their items. For instance, London is a prime city where people know the benefit of local products due to the program named “Health and Society” and this program is running by the eminent Non-governmental organization of London.

In conclusion, people get attracted towards the products only by its marketing, they even don’t think of its consequences. Also, if people will not buy local products, then it will increase the poverty of that nation.