Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A language is a basic medium of communication that can be a drawback to a person who is not familiar with the local dialect and this can make living difficult. This essay completely agrees with the notion that not knowing the locale of the general public can be disadvantageous and will be explained further.

The key aspect is social, where a person is unable to form friendships with the people around them as language becomes a major barrier. As there is no common ground between a person and other citizens, it is a hurdle until the language is learned. To illustrate, a person who has been transferred from one country to another that does not share the language can be tough on the person, as converse basics of the new language need to be learned.

Coming to the practical issues that a person might face could be the interaction for basic products and knowing the best location to purchase the commodities. Once the language is mastered basic interaction becomes easier and so does living as a new world is opened up until then daily interactions like commuting and shopping for groceries. For example, an immigrant will not be familiar with the stores that give the best deals and will only gain experience.

To conclude, for a person who has migrated to a new country the initial days can be overwhelming if the language is not known and this can socialise with the native residents as well as meeting daily needs.