Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans. Do you agree or disagree?(Write at least 250 words)

Artificial intelligent give a variety of benefits to people such as a self-driving car, automatic energy management, or piloting an airplane. In particular, translation is one of an application created with artificial intelligent that people are interested in. Some people doubt whether machine translation will be able to take over this task from human. In my opinion, I am certain that it will, in the near future.

First aspect of automated translation to be taken into account is speed. We have seen this gradually improved, and now it works instantaneously for a short paragraph which can be seen in Facebook instant translation. This improvement is a result of two major reasons. Firstly, according to Moore’s Law, the number of transistors in an integrated circuit has been doubled in every two years which implies that the speed will also be doubled. Secondly, instead of relying on a general purpose processor, researchers and large companies started to use single purpose processors which is specialized for machine learning which is more than ten times faster.

Accuracy is also a critical success indicator of machine translation. As a result of faster processors, more complex implementation of machine translation that will improve the translation accuracy is now possible. A recent experiment shown that machine can understand English legal documents better than professional lawyers, although the experiment was only to understand the document without translation, it was half way there.

In conclusion, machine translation is gradually improving in both speed and accuracy. It will soon be able to replace human on document translation task, starting from a simple document to high complexity document. One more job will be taken by computer and some professional translators might need to change their job.