Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Surveillance technology has been widely used increasingly around the world. For example, public surveillance by government has drastically increased since 9/11 incident. China government also uses a huge CCTV network for social credit system. The use of this technology has become a discussion topic for many years. Some people believe that it violates people’s privacy, on the other hand, it provides public safety.

Monitoring technology provides benefits for various local and global use cases. The simplest use is to install security cameras in a store that contains high-monetary value product or contains a lot of cash such as a gold shop, a gun shop, or a bank. Furthermore, people has recently begun to install a security camera in their cars so that they have a strong evidence to protect themselves in case that an accident happen. Local governments can also install security cameras in secluded areas to monitor and protect their people. Finally, governments can also multiple kinds of surveillance technology together such as wire tapping to monitor suspects for terrorism protection.

However, excessive monitoring does not push the safety level to the best. In contrast, it brings the uncomfortable feeling to people because their privacy is being violated. Sacrificing privacy of million people in order to watch a handful of criminals or terrorists does not make people happy. If the government already knows who are suspects, they should have a better way to keep track of those suspects instead of violating everyone’s right. More than that, some governments use surveillance technology to provide a scoring system that penalty people when unpleasant action is taken.

In summary, technology always brings both good and bad use cases. Using it in a good way provides safety to people; contrastingly, excessive surveillance violate people’s rights. It is up to each government to decide how much trade-off it want to pay for.