The majority of news being reported bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime.

Why do you think that is?

Do you think news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Give appropriate and relevant examples from your personal experience where you can.

News has become ubiquitous in today’s life. Technological advancement has made it possible to fosters the spread of news within a minute or less. The conundrum is, most of the news being broadcasted is negative such as civil wars, natural calamities, felony, and mishaps. This epidemic adverse news regime is due to the prompt reaction from the public.

To begin with, negative news has been becoming more entertaining and therefore quick public reaction is obvious. This reaction has the capacity to increase publications reputation in the market. Additionally, nowadays, live news are more in demand, where people can acknowledge about live incidents such as catastrophe, border military issues, fire accidents or prisoners internal fights. For example, New York times had broadcasted live footage of the world trade centre being destroyed, since then it became the top news channel of America. In this way more and more competitors started to record and publish similar activities over news and got undisputed attention from the public. This trend continues since the first event took place back in 2006.

This trend should be stopped by serving some positive news by the channels. This will enable to bring overall positive surrounding and therefore positivity to citizens life. Watching reported bad news could be the fun for a while, but it certainly brings anxiety and make pace for atrocity in one’s mind over time. In this case, balance is quintessential nowadays to spread positivity and maintain one’s mental health. For instance, the American government has contemplated that, after negative news had been publicised, their crime ratio had skyrocketed. The government had implied some restriction on news channels and found positive results in following years in terms of decreasing crime rate.

To deduce, it is necessary to spread positivity via news to maintain peace and harmony in the society. All the governments should put some implications to stop these channels reporting bad news, perpetually.