Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common disease or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children ?

A lot of advancements have been made in the medical field and the health sector. Vaccines have proven to prevent childhood diseases in many nations. Some support the opinion that parents should hold the right to get their children vaccinated or not. I however, believe that governments should impose strict laws to have parents immunize their children owing to the fact that it is the most effective way to control few common diseases and prevention is always considered a good practice since time immemorial

First and foremost, infants and children are the ones who are primarily affected due to the outbreak of diseases. They are vulnerable to life threatening diseases such as Dengue, Malaria and even sometimes become disabled. One such example of developing disability is Polio. Having them vaccinated helps to strengthen their immune system to fight against such diseases. Hence, vaccination can induce the increase of standards of healthy living

Additionally, prevention is better than cure. Some disease cannot be treated and make the individuals permanently disabled. One who contracted Leprosy or Polio will have to remain his life with the disability. So, by making parents to abide to the laws to immunize children will definitely make sure that none will be affected by such diseases and can eventually eliminate these dangerous diseases. Many countries have realized that healthy nation reflects healthy economy. As a result, certain vaccinations are made mandatory and also offered as a free service to curb the deadly diseases

In conclusion, imposing law to immunize children inevitably benefits as it prevents diseases and is also the proven way to eradicate some common and serious diseases