Many children these days have their own mobile phones. What are advantages and disadvantages? Give your own opinion.

In the last decade, smart phones have brought a revolution in communications industry and it has changed the way we used to communicate and gather information. Parents and even most of the youngsters have their own smart devices. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of these mobile phones and will provide the opinion that parent’s supervision is required on kids.

One of the main advantages for children having a mobile gadget is that it is a highway of information. For example, with click of a button a child can get where the pyramid of Giza is, how it was built and how old it is. Even, it is helpful to perform research for upcoming class assignment. Thus, a young kid is always able to search for topics of interest.

Secondly, smart phones provide a chance to be always connected with family and friends. Let’s take whatsapp as an example, it is providing a facility to be with loved ones whenever required. Audio, video calls, messages and even media can be shared with ease. At time of emergency it is easy to reach family and civil defence services.

Turning to the other side, youngsters are always under a threat of child abusers. They act like well-wisher and friend but there actual motives are very dangerous. Last year a gang of child abductors was caught by New York police. These criminals will search their prey on social media, will become their friend and will invite to meet. During the meeting they will kidnap the kid and will ask the family for ransom.

Another issue is that, kids become addicted to their mobile devices and this addiction starts hurting their vision, hunger and sleep patterns. A lot of parents have started complaining that kids will stay hours and hours in front of these electronic devices. A recent survey by University of Maryland has revealed that two out of ten teenagers are facing sleep and hunger deprivation because of over usage of these devices.

All the things considered, as this new technological advancement have brought some advantages of quick communication and information, it has also brought physical and psychological dangers to children. In my opinion, it is duty of parents to keep an eye on the activities of their young ones and restrict access when it is necessary.