In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Living in multi-story buildings is incredibly common for the majority of people in cities. Although there are some drawbacks, the benefits derived from this is more, which will be discussed now.

The major negative aspect of staying in high-rise flats is space constrain. Due to limited and scarce land in towns, the modern architecture are designed to build large number of units with reduction in room area. Although homes are many, they are compact and less room for movement. But people move to larger flats or individual house if they can start afford it. Another drawback is higher risk of accidents. In other words, If one flat catches fire, it is highly likely that it will run rampant to other compartments instantly. People on higher floors may not be able to escape wild fire and may cause casualties. However, this is less likely to happen, nowadays, since all the building are equipped with fire extinguishers to prevent such mishaps.

Despite the pile of downsides mentioned aboved, there are many upsides of dwelling in vertical residential establishments. Firstly, the rate of renting or even buying a flat is less costly in comparison to independent houses. Also, the maintance cost is lower which makes them affordable for middle-class people. Secondly, it offers living opportunity to larger number of people in less area since one apartment complex can accommodate hundreds of families, since housing is a serious issue in cities. Lastly, due to high security facilities and CCTV survelliance, it is more secure to live in apartments. Recent studies have shown that crimes like burglary and robbery is significantly lower in skyscrappers due to its strong security system.

In conclusion, while residing in building has some downsides, namely smaller personal space and casualties, the benefits accrued from it, such as less expensive living, solving urban housing issue, and security, are by no means negligible. Therefore, in my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages.