In many countries the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent.

why do you think this is and what can be done about it?

Nowadays, crime is increasing at an alarming rate and it has become a global phenomena. The root causes of this are poverty, unemployment and drug abuse. The practical solution is to educate young people about the consequences, bring strict laws and give more job opportunities.

Firstly, a major part of the population is unemployed and poor. they have to struggle to fulfill their daily basic needs as well. unemployment leaves them no choice to act violently to get bread and butter for their family. Secondly, drug abuse has been increasing in the society. it has become easier to get different types of narcotic substances which affect the senses to act uncontrollably. people under the influence of these drugs often do heinous crimes. For instance, in the last decade crime rate in Delhi has increased drastically due to the increase in drug substances in the market.

To tackle these problems new jobs must be provided. that is to say that when employed, people can buy basic products for their family and provide better education to the young ones. Enforcing strict laws is another feasible solution, as people tends to avoid criminal activities when even a small illegal act can get you harsh punishment. For instance, in Saudi Arabia punishment for stealing is chopping hands in front of a large audience which brings fear in the people and they avoid indulging in offences. In addition, government can also start campaigns to educate people about drug abuses and its adverse effects on mental and physical health.

To recapitulate, criminal acts are growing globally due to an increase in narcotic drugs in the market and poor people still struggling to fulfill basic needs. The predicament can be improved by giving jobs to jobless people and providing counseling to drug abusers. Furthermore, strict laws should be implemented against even small crimes which will make people avoid indulging in illegal activities.