In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common.

Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In the contemporary society, using mobile apps to make payments has become increasingly popular. Although some people opine that there are several drawbacks to this method, many people have supported the notion after experiencing their benefits. This essay will delve into the pros and cons of paying via online app before giving a personal opinion.

To begin with, there are numerous advantages of paying via apps. The most prominent advantage is the process saves time as people do not have to stand in long queues anymore. In fact, this can be done with a few clicks by people of all age despite their busy schedule or f they do not have any one to help them. For instance, senior citizens do not have to depend upon their children or travel to the bank to pay their utility bills. This can be done with a few clicks from the comforts of their home via an application installed on their devices. Furthermore, due to the flexibility offered by these applications, there is no need to carry cash around and be worried about being mugged.

However, there are certain drawbacks of having credit stored in personal devices. Cyber crimes has become more prevalent with the advent of technology and hackers, nowadays, can easily get access to an account thereby making fraudulent payments which might be unknown to the user. While paying bills extra charges are incurred by the application, such as service fee or transaction charge, which is sometimes unreasonable.

In order to counter these adversaries several measures can be taken such as setting two factor authentication, so that when anyone tries to login to the system an alert message is sent to the user. The extra charges can be avoided by paying the amount in smaller chunks that falls below the minimal amount, although it might be time consuming.

To conclude, using apps in mobile devices are more convenient and time saving for the society. Although there are some disadvantages, they can be overcome with appropriate measures. Hence, it can be clearly seen that the advantages outstrip the disadvantages.