In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing.

Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Presently, there is a trend all round the world to switch from traditional to western style clothes. The main reason for this is globalization, which is neither bad nor good and leads to lack of diversity.

As we know, the modern world has become closer in terms of cultural penetration and interconnected economies of different countries, which inevitably influence local fashion. Foreign advertisement and import of goods make it appealing for locals to purchase foreign clothes, especially western one. Additionally, such clothes as jeans are not only fashionable but also highly practical and comfortable. For example, in some countries in Asia men used to wear Sarong, which is basically a long piece of clothing and today many of them prefer wearing jeans as it is more convenient.

In my opinion, even though the trend mentioned above leads to less variety in people’s outfits, I believe it has its own merits. First, western-based items as a rule are cheaper than conventional dressing and can be manufactured and sold in different parts of the world. Meanwhile, traditional clothing is produced using a semi-handicraft method and can be sold only on local markets as traditional dressing is not popular globally. In addition, wide-spread western-style garments bring the general public a sense of equality as it was noticed that this kind of dressing increases the feeling of fitting in among persons wearing them.

In conclusion, the reason behind the latest fashion trends is a process of growing global interdependence of economies, traditions, population and inter-border trades. In general, it can be considered as advantageous because similar styles in outlook facilitate equality among the nations and stimulate foreign trades.