In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Increasing the number of elderly people portion has been a controversial topic these days among many territories around the globe. Although supporters would argue that it has many benefits for societies but refuters believe that this could impose dreadful impacts on countries’ economic. These two points of view will be analyzed deeply in this essay.

Firstly, the vast majority of supporters believe that aged citizens and their experience would have enormous impact on communities where they reside. For instance, it has been proved that youngsters who live with their grandparents are likely to become considerably successful in foreseeable future. These highly seasoned people would share their invaluable experiences, either with their loved ones or with community’s members. This approach could consequently discourage crimes between young adults in many urban cities. In addition to this, authorities could consider employing these valuable citizens in order to gain from their experiences which could lead to an economic boost for that country.

Secondly, the refuters of longevity would argue that the percentage of aging population has been severely raised which could have inevitable impact on economic systems in terms of aged care funding. In china, the government has enacted a law which would assist citizens with no children by providing subsidized funds to prevent swelling of aged population. As the above example indicates, longevity could exhaust the government’s resources because in many developed countries, governments have organized many programs for elderly people over 60s, to cover most of their health care expenses. Admittedly, increasing the life span could have detrimental impact on government’s resources which, instead, could be spent on highly substantial matters.

To conclude, the rapid growth of longevity in most modernized countries has introduced many supporters and refuters. Most of them believe that aged people are beneficial for their communities because of their adequate experiences, while others argue that these individuals impose significant amount of funds to be expensed for them. Thus, I feel that longevity would cause economic instability which eventually could have destructive impacts on societies as a whole.