In many countries today people are choosing to have fewer children. WHY is this the case? WHAT are the effects of this trend on society?

Most families today opt to have fewer children than before. In this essay I will discuss some reasons of this trend as well as its impact on the society.

Firstly it is known that the natural or synthetic resources become scarce worldwide; that’s to say, insufficiency of drinking water and food are major expected problems for the future and family planning is the way to move forward. Moreover increasing the cost of living is another problem to be considered by parents themselves. Over all deteriorating quality of life such as education, healthcare, and transportation stress parents to work more to make sure good quality of life to their offspring. For example, parents need to earn more money to attach their children in private schools or to offer them a private car instead of using public transportation facility which has less quality.

Regarding to the impact on society, family planning has a great positive influence on household as well as the country. To begin with, from the parent’s perspective, it is easier to raise one or two kids with acceptable quality of living than having more children with weak foundation and no future. To illustrate, the money and effort needed for raising four children is doubled when the parent having only two kids therefore, the family having two kids with the same income can enjoy their life, and spend more on entertainment. In addition, from governmental perspective, services and facilities such as education, healthcare, infrastructure, and job opportunities can be offered in a good standard in countries with a low population. To simplify, it is a fact that countries with small populations such as UK, USA, and Canada offer better services for their citizens and residents than countries having large populations such as China or India.

In way of conclusion, family planning become critical issue worldwide because it can save the coming generations from the limited resources as well as relive the burden on both family and governments.