As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

While the majority of citizens spend more than half of their life working, being satisfy in their career is one of their ultimate goals. Although multiple factors which might contribute to the sense of job satisfaction, this feeling is depending more on the personality of the worker.

There are two parameters which could ensure happiness in the workplace. Firstly, the availability of clear career path for each employee as a promotion scheme can encourage persons to work hard and manage any stressful condition. Epco, a local pharmaceutical company in Egypt, has been characterized by its constant job description and career path; as a result, most of pharmacists are trying to be employed there as the company is having a positive reputation from its employees whom are satisfied with working there. Another contributing factor, which is the main concern of most of the workers, is the income. While appropriate salary seems to satisfy only the materialistic needs, it also develops the sense of happiness as employees ascertain that their work is paid off at the end. For example, if the person works hard and exerts some effort without any reward, bonus or incentive, he/she would lose the sense of being appreciated.

Achieving happiness at work is depending on the personality of the employee who should be able to clearly identify his/her need. The perfection of the workplace is an unrealistic issue; however, being satisfied is possible if the person has achievable goals. For example, some people find their happiness in the working environment itself as working with friendly, decent persons makes them happy and satisfied. From another angle, others may find their satisfaction in perusing a lacerative job in order to earn more and enjoy a luxurious life.

By way of conclusion, while there are factors such as career path and sufficient salary could be attributed to job satisfaction, this feeling is only a matter of personal choice to be happy with his/her occupation or not.