Some people think that teenagers should be required to do community service in their free time as this would benefit both the individual teenagers and their society.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views concerning whether youngsters should take part in community services in their free time or not. From my perspective, I’m inclined to agree that sharing in community work would have a positive impact on teens as well as societies.

On the one hand, vast individual benefits could be gained from doing community service. To begin with, teens, who are probably at high school, are limited to only educational life, and they spent most of their time at schools. By sharing in social service, they enrich their practical skills as well as working experience. Another repercussion worth mentioning is that almost all children and high school students lack effective communication skills owing to living in the era of technology, they might miss the ordinary conversations and discussions. Therefore, if they enrol themselves in such services, they will enhance their approaches of communication with their society apart from the online platform.

Regarding the positive influence for societies, genuine minds and ideas are introduced to ordinary services would make a significant difference. For example, in Egypt some governmental schools asked their students to paint the building’s exterior walls, and students made a remarkable piece of art as they used their imagination along with a variety of colours . Another point, when young adults take part in social services, they will have a closer look at how their society really is. They tend to serve at different facilities, and get in contact with different age groups; as a result, this will definitely strengthen the bonds between all the citizens and unify the society.

By way of conclusion, I support the idea of allowing young people to share in public services as myriads of advantages mentioned above.