Many small town center shops are running out of business because rural residents tend to go shopping in big cities store. To what extent do the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has being observed that dwellers of suburbs tend to shop more from metropolis than from their town stores. Although shopping from large cities has several advantages, I am inclined to believe that the disadvantages are overweighted.

To embark with, shopping malls in capital cites can attract their customers by different ways which give benefits for consumers. One method is by building huge shopping centers which include all shopping stuff such as clothes, food, electronics, and other goods under one roof, and this makes choosing or comparing products easier and more convenient for buyers. Moreover, promoting goods in the form of price reduction or apply certain discount scheme is another way to attract more consumers even from the rural areas. For examples, offers such as one plus one are very convenient and it saves money as if two persons want to buy the same product, they can simply get it half priced.

On the other hand, the disadvantage of shifting the buyer to metropolis has a fatal effect on the suburb’s economy, as it will be imbalanced compared to big city. People have the desire to buy more with less cost and this will not be offered in town’s shops and as a result this would decrease the purchasing power in the countryside. To illustrate, the majority of people living in rural area tend to do their shopping in the weekend so they can buy their needs from far cities’ shopping malls in the sale seasons. Another point is declining the production of handicrafts because of lack of publicity, and as a result, their markets eventually get closed. Due to these disadvantages unemployment might be a great problem in countryside.

In way of conclusion, there are merits of shopping in large cities which saves consumer’s money as well as time, but- from my point of view- the demerits are more serious as it negatively influence the countryside’s economy, and diminishing traditional handicrafts.