In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era of constantly changing world situations, the aforementioned topic has its own significance that cannot be denied as youth seems unaware of the burning issues faced by most parts of the world. They are least bothered with the current affairs and issues that might haunt us in coming days like water scarcity, global warming, intense weather situations, etc.

First and foremost, we must look into the reasons of this attitude of our new generation. There could be various reasons for lack of interest of youth in reading newspapers or watching news on television. It has been observed that most of the kids in running days are fond of playing indoor games either on their computers or on smart phones. In addition to this, parents seems ok with their kids if they are spending their time in watching music, cartoons or kids channels instead of watching news or reading newspapers. In continuation, if we consider the way of presenting a news on TV channel, it is something which might be changed. By repeating same news on a channel makes it look bore for a youngster. They loss their interest in the news and often prefer to change the channel to get some entertainment.

To overcome this challenge we have to change the way of presenting news on TV as well as in newspapers. For instance, we should follow the trend of a channel’s viewership age group, i.e. if youngsters are more inclined towards entertainment, cartoon or kids specific channels, we can add a segment of current happenings around the globe in all such channels. Parents can play a vital part in this by encouraging their children to read more newspapers as this can help them enhancing their vocabulary and also develop habit of reading which will help them in their future. Newspapers can add pages for kids where they can get news on latest technology and gaming as this can help increasing the number of young readers.

To conclude this, it call for a collective effort of parents as well as of the channel and newspaper agencies to make youngsters convert to their medium to stay updated on current affairs and latest happenings around the globe.