Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as released from prison.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What possible solutions can you suggest?

Criminals tend to commit more crimes after being released from prison. This is a complex, multi-factorial issue that we'll address in this article.

One of the reasons why criminals tend to commit more crime after being released from prison could be the fault of the prison systems itself. Non violent offenders get incarcerated alongside violent offenders and this might cause the non-violent offenders such as those who are sentenced with drug charges or fraud become more violent in order to protect themselves or join a criminal gang for protection.

Another reason might be the lack of a system to integrate criminals after their release. Criminals often face difficulties in finding jobs due to businesses and employers being hesitant to hire a person with a criminal record, even people with minor charges such as posession of an illicit drug. Furthermore, many countries deny the right to vote for people with criminal pasts and this might make them feel cast away from society.

There are many ways to fix this problem, one being seperating people with minor charges from those who have commited murder, delt drugs or more serious charges. This will allow the inmates to be away from the influence of gangs and be less likely to turn into violence. Another way is rehabilatating the criminals in order to be law abiding citizens and try to integrate them back into society by finding them jobs.