Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

The progress of a nation is often measured based on its economic growth therefore many governments focus on economy rather than other important parameters. However some people have contrasting views and they believe that other factors like social security, healthcare, political stability and education are more important. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate on both sides of the argument and conclude with my opinion.

First and foremost governments in many developing countries focus is on economic growth as they believe that if the economy is growing it will attract new investments globally which will not only help in creating plethora of job opportunities but also increase the collection of taxes. These funds will enable government to strengthen social security, build better public infrastructure and provide better healthcare and education to the citizens. For example in countries like India, the local government is creating new policies to attract new investments to ensure economic growth.

However on the other hand government must ensure stable political environment, better social security and public infrastructure to attract investments globally to ensure economic growth for that country. As can be seen globally that investors do not prefer to invest in countries with unstable political conditions like Afghanistan, Iran and Syria however on the other hand countries like Singapore and United Arab Emirates attract global investments which fuel there economic growth. Hence growth of economic sectors must be aligned with other growth factors as well.

In conclusion it is undeniable that economic growth plays a pivotal role in development of a nation however I personally believe that other indicators like political stability, education, health and social security are equally important to ensure sustainable growth for a nation.