Many large supermarkets are being built today while the number of small shops is decreasing.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, big companies are working to extend in the market and achieve a high profit. Large supermarkets are built over the countries including a big variety of shops in it, where the customer enter and find everything they want. This new era is affecting small retail shops and causing a conflict in the market scale.

On one hand, huge supermarkets have many advantages to satisfy the customer. Where the buyer have a large choice of many brands that suits his purchasing value. Secondly, in such supermarkets the person can find all their needs without moving from one shop to another. Moreover, big stores works on obtaining their own brands in good quality and lower prices, to increase their profit. For example, Coles one of the biggest supermarkets in Australia, works on attracting small shops to open inside their stores, or buy them to be under their name.

On the other hand, small shops in the upcoming years most of them will be closed. The main reason, little capital stores are facing difficulties to stay in the market, where it is getting bigger and require high budgets to rival such big supermarkets. Therefore, the number of clients is decreasing, especially for clothes shops where everything could be found at the central market lately. For example, people used to purchase their socks from any local shop, know they can find at the supermarkets with big number of choices.

As a conclusion, the number of large supermarkets will continue to increase, but this will impact negatively on small shops. That is why we can find shops are closing permanently, others are moving inside the markets. This way is causing a defect in the finical situation for many sectors.