Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people.

Why does this happen?

What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

The past few decades has seen a tremendous rise in the tourism industry in many countries. It is generally observed that tourists visit museums and historical sites more instead of its local people. Does not local people treasure the value of their heritage? This essay will put some light on the reasons behind this and will also suggest few solutions to change this trend.

People are normally very keen on travelling abroad and visiting different countries for holidays instead of discovering their own country. For many people, spending a vacation at an international location helps them to maintain a status in the society. Not all people are aware about the historical attractions of their own country and the history and knowledge behind it. Some people are of the opinion that local sites can be visited at any time but international holidays can be planned only during specific periods of the year. For instance, an Indian would choose Dubai over Taj Mahal as Dubai can be visited only during November to March, since at other times the temperatures are usually very high which is not recommended for tourism, whereas Taj Mahal can be visited at any time during the year.

Government should encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites by giving special discounts on entry fees of such sites for localities. They can also attract local people by providing them subsidised rates for hotel stay and for shopping at such sites. In addition, schools and colleges should not only educate the children about these local historical attractions but also conduct excursions and events at such museums and historical sites to generate awareness about our heritage in the minds of young people. Government and tourist industries can also advertise such sites on roadside hoardings and television channels to reach out to people about various tour options to visit these places.

To conclude, knowledge and awareness of local heritage should be raised amongst local people to visit museums and historical sites. This can be successfully done by spreading awareness through advertisements and educating students via schools and colleges.