Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations around the world, there are many galleries showcasing historical and cultural artifacts without charging any money to the visitors. While offering free visits to such sites has certain advantages, there are certain disadvantages worth considering.

The primary advantage by offering free entry to museums would be creating widespread awareness about local culture by attracting a large number of local visitors and international tourist. Additional, this phenomenon would also enable educating the youth who are increasingly attracted to pop culture and are in danger of losing their cultural identity. Therefore, such subsides can be justified as they showcase cultural heritage that enhances national pride of a country.

On the other hand various drawbacks can be noted. In first place, restoring ancient artifacts and preserving them would involve significant costs. Such sites are often a source of income for an administration to fund the excavation and archeological research. Offering free entry would mean that funds should be obtained from elsewhere which might not be feasible for economically challenged countries. Additionally, if such sites are free to visit, it may be considered unworthy and less significant by many people. On the other hand, if there are charges associated, people might consider visiting such sites valuable as part of their expeditions.

In conclusion, the disadvantages are of a greater importance compared to advantages. The entry charges paid by visitors are vital as the secure the maintaince of such rare educational resources and recognition to their significance. Given the situation, it is recommended that an administration charges nominal fees for all the museums in order to sustain it efforts in preservation of history and culture.