Many parents encourage young people to leave home when they become older, while others think that they should stay at home with the family. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is perceived by some that children should leave their home after reaching a certain age, while others think they must live with their family. In my opinion, though being with family is important for the reason that it helps in maintaining the relationship, individuals cannot become responsible if they are allowed to stay at their parents’ house forever.

To commence with, those who stay with their parents, generally have a better and healthy relationship with them. In other words, they are more connected to their parents as they share their joy, as well as problems with them. This enables them with solutions and certain expertise provided by their elders, which they do not possess, which eventually helps them to take vital decisions in a better way. Moreover, living together help the parents to pass their time during their old age in an efficient manner. With children around, they are more relaxed and their happiness quotient is high. To exemplify, recent research by Oxford University revealed that people in Scotland are welcoming the idea of a joint family as they believe it would help all the family members to stay connected and not feel deprived.

Having said that, in order to be responsible, humans need to get out of their comfort zone. Getting away from their parents’ house not only makes them a responsible citizen, but also helps them to realise the value of their ancestral home. Furthermore, it helps them to acknowledge the fact that to be successful, you have to earn money and build your own home. It also provides these individuals with perks of privacy. To exemplify, people in USA follow the system of leaving their maternal home when they are 18 years of age, and along with success in their life, they are blessed with their privacy, which has proved to be a matter of concern these days. Else, with all the facilities, they may not be willing to do hard work, and this can result in bad relationships with their family members.

To conclude, no one can deny that living with parents provides you with better relationship with your parents. But according to me, to be successful, one needs to leave their home when they become mature enough. Hence, people should follow the concept of asking their children to go away when they become older and children should accept this as an important challenge in their life.