Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

Technology today has brought a radical change in the way human beings socialise. People these days prefer to spend most of their time online instead of spending it the old traditional way. According to me, this is a negative development as it not only impacts the physical health of human beings, but also puts them into isolation.

One major drawback of socialising online is that its after effects on health can be hazardous. Individuals who constantly use online platforms usually complain about severe eye burning caused because of strain. Also, in some cases they have reported about their eyesight getting poor. Moreover, these socialising applications are making people lazy as they prefer to stay at home instead of going out, which in turn makes them obese. A recent survey conducted by Indian Institute of Technology (Mumbai) revealed that individuals who stay connected through online platforms are more prone to get lifestyle diseases, impacting their visual ability and general health.

Another negative impact of socialising online is that it is creating a huge communication gap between people, because of which they are getting isolated. They are getting less accustomed to meet their relatives and friends physically. This in turn is making them feel deprived of human touch, which makes them, feel alone. In some cases, this feeling of getting separated leads to mental illness and there is a greater risk of people getting depressed. One biggest proof of this is that in October 2018, Psychological department of Los Angeles community hospital revealed that the number of cases related to mental health increased substantially. When asked, most of the patients said that they spend most of their time on facebook and instagram.

To conclude, though most of the human beings today are more interested in staying connected online, this practice has caused a detrimental impact on their well being. It has affected their physical health and put them in a cut off mode. And as stated earlier, I firmly believe, this is a negative development.