Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, online social media are gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world. Most importantly, the issue has been a bone of contention among the critics regarding either the online socialization is really worthy or not. While some people will contend that these virtual networks are beneficial to the modern world, however, I would opine that these developments are having some serious negative impacts to the present world as well as to the future generations.

Firstly, for the sake of communication, people use the social networking platforms addictively and thus millions of productive hours are being wasted. What I mean here is that the general tendency is to spend hours after hours on social media mainly for watching other people’s update which is sometimes totally irrelevant to the actual need of communication. Hence, the purpose of communication is just an excuse for being glued on them irrespective of the surrounding atmosphere. People who are walking on the street of any downtown area can be used to exemplify the level of addition. It is not at all surprising to see that the people are trying stay online even while walking on the street like the zombie and as they are extensively suffering from “fear of missing out” or FOMO. The result is no good at all other than wasting tons of man-hour into certain unproductive issues.

Secondly, the booming of social networking is actually diminishing the moral values of face to face interaction to whom we are communicating. Hence, this sort of virtual communication does not help at all to develop any human intimacy or emotional bonding in these days. People are becoming heartless and becoming detached from the core circle of friends and family which results in loneliness in the real world. Surprisingly, to tackle that loneliness we are again finding peace on social platforms that results in a vicious cycle of dependency. Therefore, it is now becoming a common scenario in our everyday life to see that after coming back from the parents are rushing their attention to the social feeds and sometimes ignores that necessity of giving attention to their kids. Ultimately, the quality of life is being disrupted drastically weakening the family bonding forever.

All things considered, we are almost at the brink of extreme victimization of abusive online interfaces. To me, this will create an irreversible negative impact on our future generation unless we start thinking about a digital detox right now.