Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, people have opted the advanced technology to create a virtual social life online, and it is the preferred way of communication instead of having one to one conversation. In my opinion, I believe that it is negative development because it may lead to various kind of physical and mental problems with disappearance of social bonds within society.

One of the serious concern is that it would decrease social physical interaction to that level where relationships may start disappearing. In other words, people start spending most of their time on internet, and have little time available for the interaction with the persons in their surroundings. Thus, those persons would develop the feeling of being ignored in their minds which might lead to the breakage of relationship bonds.

Another problem that may arise it the direct effect on the physical and mental well-being of human and it might start affecting with serious effects because more time would be spent online, and no time is being devoted to exercise and other physical activities. Consequently, the fitness level of a person will start decreasing. For instance, a latest survey conducted by London University revealed that 72% of the population in UK is suffering from the eyesight defects and backbone problems due to overuse of smartphones and computers.

Besides, the confidence level of a people might start loosing when they have to face real-time situations of having conversation with number of people at a time because they become habitual of having communication over social media applications and websites, and they are not used to offline communications. To simplify it with example, it is common for people to have chatting on face book or whats app by using smileys and other shorts forms of words which ultimately would make difficult for them to have a formal talk with anybody. Therefore, society would have to bear major setback with these problems and people.

In conclusion, technology has made it possible to connect with the people overseas within seconds, but excessive use of this technology in daily routine life would have harmful effects on society as well as individuals itself.