Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers.

it is often argued that the majority of young students choose to pursue academic studies, thus causing a shortage of workers with specified skills, hence motivation should be given to people to pursue vocational education. Personally, I share the same view with this argument. this essay will discuss both sides of the argument, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationale to justify this argument. On the first hand, it is important for the economic and social health of the society. To be more specific, many of the skills most needed, to compete in the 21st-century global competition, require skilled labor workforce, as all the fieldwork is vocational and technical in nature. For instance, the U.S economy has risen dramatically, just because it is creating challenging, highly skilled and well-paid jobs only for those workers, who are able to perform them. consequently, the U.S manufacturing business is growing and modernizing and hence they are well-developed in terms of sanitary and electricity system. Secondly, this will help those learners who are keen to pursue their desired career but are condemned just because of status quo bais, that restricts parents to motivate their children only for a white-collar job.

however, on the contrary, those who oppose this, consider blue-collar job as low wage and non- professional job. So to maintain or upgrade their status such guardians, force their children to go for academic professions. however, I believe the absence of excellence in many technical and vocational fields is costing us economically.

To conclude, I would restate that, for the betterment of society, more and more adults should be encouraged towards vocational training.