Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation has more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, a lot of people give priority to their professional life instead of thinking about social life concurrently. They spend more time on their work rather than a little me time. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of longer working hours.

In order to survive in a cutthroat competition, people tend to work for longer hours to get the benefit of satisfactory appraisal and bonus. As the world is changing rapidly it is necessary to cope up with the dynamic environment and that is only possible by spending more time to work to remain update and learning as much as possible. For instance, one can fulfil his dreams by spending crucial time in potential task. Advocate needs to be updated all the time because of persistently change in law and regulations. And also, it is a well-known fact that legends do not pass their time in unproductive activities.

Alternatively, longer working hours has more disadvantages as it results in the imbalance of work and social life. If people do not have time to relax there would be a lot of negative consequences on their health as these activities not only keep the mind refresh but also provide energy. Meditation, hanging out with friends, having a fruitful time with family help to develop their bond as well as social life stronger. Lack of time for themselves make the person frustrated and sometimes result in belligerent behaviour. Apart from following the monotonous routine, it is extremely necessary to take out some relief hours.

To recapitulate, longer working hours help to achieve the desired objective and leads to betterment as well. As a contradiction of sorts, it is equally essential to take out spare hours from busy working schedule in order to balance personal as well as professional life. To be precise, the advantages of leisure activities outweigh its disadvantages.