Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the trend of working for a long duration and not devoting time to entertainment is being followed by a number of people. This essay agrees that this phenomenon has more drawbacks. In my opinion, health issues and social isolation are the two biggest negative effects of this, followed by the flawed argument that spending a sizeable amount of time in office would help them to get a promotion, which is not valid.

Apparently, doing overtime at the workplace would cast an adverse effect on the holistic well-being of an individual. That is to say, a majority of people perform most of their jobs on digital screens these days, which emit harmful rays. Thus, by remaining glued to these devices for a long time, a person may fall prey to some visual and hearing impairments. Moreover, these devices are the main culprit for developing psychometric disorders among people. A recent study conducted by World Health Organization has revealed that about 78% of people are reeling under depression and anxiety due to overuse of technological appliances. Apart from this, leaving very small time for the family would widen the gap among relatives. In other words, masses who use to perform official activities for a long time, hardly get the time to spend with family members and friends. Therefore, their such habits

definitely alienate them from their social circle and broaden the communication gap among multitudes. Taking the example of the famous hometown namely Chandigarh, in the residential areas, people even do not know that who are their neighbors as they usually tend to live at work premises for the whole day.

Admittedly, it is believed by a majority of individuals that doing overtime duties would help them to get a higher position in any organization. However, there are many other aspects that can help an employee to get a promotion, such as the skills and smartness of a person. No doubt, devoting greater time to any task would provide much knowledge and experience, but it does not assure that a person having more experience always surpasses the smarter one. Furthermore, working extra time affects the productivity of the workers because human minds work well only if adequate rest is provided to them. To exemplify, a research carried out in my own company has concluded that employees who do their duties in assigned working hours are more efficient than those who spend extra time.

On balance, although sticking to the professional duties for the long turn is considered to be very beneficial for the sake of shifting to higher positions in the company; however, serious effects provided by this trend, such as health complications and lack of social interactions concluded that its disadvantages outperform the invalid advantage.