In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance.

what are the causes of this phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In this competitive world there is an abundant increase in the usage of harmful steroids to revamp the performance of sportsmen in many professional sports. The causative factor for this phenomenon is because of the pressure the athletes have to progress their career in young age and the most viable solution to this is to perform health checkup and to ban the sports persons if sentenced to any perilous drugs.

The primary cause for the consumption of these detrimental substances is subjected in most young players because of the fact that, they cannot survive without any support in this competitive world. Although, many sports men have the stamina, to win in their respective fields they are forced by many authorities for the intake of steroids for the sake of their brand value. For instance, it has been shown in a survey by Times of India that 45% of the country’s athletes are forced to consume banned steroids to out-perform and represent their country’s pride.

The long-term solution for this predicament is that the government need to take an initiative to restrict the usage of such perilous drugs by placing a cease on substances along with the ban those sportsmen into sports. This should include a drop test which describes the amount of drugs intake by the players. For example, a similar initiative was taken by Australian government and a cricket player was banned through out his life from sports which resulted in the decrease of 60% usage of such substances.

In conclusion, we can say that career plays an imperative role for everyone, but, it is significant to take care of your life sustainability. Thus, instead of wavering to reach great heights and ruining health by many players, government should take serious actions by conducting annual drug tests, to overcome these impediments.