Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines.Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Some people agree that face-to-face communication is better than other types of communication yet others do not. While it may seem obvious that face-to-face interaction outweighs other forms of communication, it still depends on which situation that one type is more preferable than the other.

Face-to-face interaction enables us to communicate effectively with one another. Talking to someone in person, we can see their attitude, facial expressions, gestures, tone of voice and body language. Based on these expressions, we can know the person’s actual feeling on your speech, and, perhaps, whether they are lying or not. Also, a 5-minute conversation can be as effective as 40 to 50 back-and-forth emails, which is why important meetings are usually face-to-face meetings. Talking directly to someone can innovate new ideas thinking and also enhance your creativity.

Secondly, even though face-to-face communication might be useful in certain cases, it is not as convenient as modern means of communication. For instance, if someone is far from the person they want to talk to, he or she might resort to emails, messages or calls as the alternatives. Even though these forms of communications lack of body language and expressions, they are way faster than face-to-face. In some cases, they are even more efficient and convenient.

Lastly, email is also convenient for students to exchange information about their project or for people who want to do business with people in other countries. Instead of scheduling a meeting, which is hard nowadays since everyone is busy, people can just do it online with modern technology.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that face-to-face communication and other types of communications should be used depending on the situations to maximize the effectiveness of communicating.