The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risk.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Inappropriate representation of violance in media may spread fear among the public. Some experts advocate that it stops people from engaging in myriad of activities which might not be as risky as it has been pointed out by the mass reader. I strongly agree with this notion and in this essay I will elaborate how excessive exposure of negative news leads to a hesitation in public mind.

First of all, if print and broadcast media keep reporting on national or international crisis related to human security, then the mass will feel insecured about free movement. To elaborate, hard news on terrorism, road accident etc with photos showing violence can restrict people from going outside alone. although, that situation is not a national risk or the intelligence force has taken it under control, mass people will not know it unless those information were accompanied with the former report. For instance, foreign travellers are scared to visit Bangladesh due to the news coverage on few incidents. however, people are not living in an unsafe condition inside the country. Through monitoring the media representation, this type of hesitation can need to be overcome.

Secoundly, citizen often grow doubt on the system and become less motivated if failure stories are highlighted in an extended number. To be precise, features on corruption and bribery usually render a message that mass people can not get a way without being dishonest. Because of this misconception, they may avoid taking the help of government offices in fear of loosing money, although it might not been the real situation for every government departments. A report on entrepreneurship would be a perfect example for this where it has featured that 21% of the youth do not continue their venture coming across to news that covers failure story of fellow entreprenures.

Admittedly, writing about the threats happenin around raise consciousness among the public and limiting their action may act in their favour. For instance, if parents stop their children to go to the garden in fear of getting physically abused, then it may reduce the number of violance. however, this type of fear can not be a long term solution and can act as a barrier for the society to enjoy freedom.

To conclude, media outlets should be conscious about the way they are representing different issues. it is high time that they take an ethical approach to reduce the insecuirity and doubt they have generated among the public.