Should private schools receive government funding?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of private schools are increasing nowadays and citizens are relying on this medium more than public schools because of education quality and limitation on seats in public schools. There is an ongoing argument related to government funding allocation for private schools and I believe private schools should receive government funding to keep the parents out of any excessive burden and to protect the literacy rate of the country.

First of all, private schooling is not always a choice of affluent class, but only option for some of the families as public schools has limited seats. Private schooling is highly expensive and parents with an average income faces financial struggles to send their kids to the schools. If private academic institutes receive grants, only then the tuition fees will decrease and the citizen’s life standard will not be hampered to send their kids to school. Ultimately, it is government’s duty to make sure that the families are not pressurized for education which is one of the basic needs. Countries with low tuition fees in public schools are a good example for this as couples of those countries has found more relaxed and financially stable.

Secondly, if government do not provide funding for private education, then it will cause more drop outs and eventually the literacy rate of the country will fall. Because of the high tuition fees, poor and middle class will not be able to get educated and education will become a practice for only higher class. As a result, nation’s success in science, medical or in economy will be highly effected which cannot be compensated through the money that money that is saved by the government, instead of investing on private schools. For example, Germany, Sweden, Canada and the countries where government is supporting the private schools, are making huge progress in education.

To conclude, government should fund the private schools to help their citizens from financial struggles and to raise a literate new generation.