Modern cultures around the world have become similar when compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

The world has certainly become a global village in the recent past. Associations in the cultures across the globe are evident, which did not exist in the past. These common traits in modern cultures are the outcome of two prime factors. The essay will discuss these two main factors contributing to this trend and why this development appears to be positive.

Globalization, perhaps, is the major cause of this cultural fusion. Immigration laws now are lenient than they were ever before, and this allows the masses to relocate to countries with different customs and cultural backgrounds. To adapt to a new home and neighbourhood, immigrant families tend to learn local culture and un-intentionally mixes some features of their own to culture from home country, in newly learned culture. Such developments on a larger scale, hybrids the culture and local rituals of a place. A second reason for this cultural blend appears to be an intentional move by some nations, which rely heavily on their tourism business. Countries such a Thailand, where a major part of GDP comes from the tourism industry, have intentionally modified the look and feel of their local folklore by adding some trends from the west. This move is to allure tourists from western countries and boost the economy as a result.

These recently added similarities in modern cultures appear to be a 'value add' in several ways. First and foremost is the 'Ease of doing business' cultural fusion brings with itself. Ability to understand other cultures attracts investors to do business overseas, which in turn creates work opportunities for the locals. Thailand, for instance, has recently added a western dance form 'Salsa' into the list of regional dances, which has motivated a lot of Salsa Learning Academies to set up their offices in Thailand, and this development has resulted in an upsurge in the number of employment opportunities in Music and dance industry of the country. Another positive point could be the feel of connection with a homeland that travellers and immigrants get in a mixed culture, which allows them to enjoy some home-like traditions in the culture of the host country.

In conclusion, Globalization and intentional moves by states to prosper the local economy are the prime reasons why modern cultures look similar as compared to the past. Several supporting factors including rising business opportunities and emotional connections that these modern cultures provide make cultural fusion a positively impacting development.