In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends.

Why has this change occurred?

Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Youngsters, these days, are prioritizing their friends over family members as they are found to be devoting more time to the former rather than latter. I ponder that this scenario is in place owing to the thinking of youth that friends would understand them in a better way. While, forcing the children would not offer any fruitful result and rather a more rational approach would work.

To embark upon the reason of this trend, young people stay distant from elderly due to generation gap. In other words, it is ubiquitous that there is a huge gap on the basis of perspective, lifestyle, interests, hobbies etcetera in both generations because of which lack of understanding further leads to conflicts. Parents have an urge to make children do what they want whilst, on contrary, autonomy is what adolescents desire. To illustrate this, it is a general trend that children lock them up in their rooms once they reach home from their schools or coaching classes so that they could not touch base with their parents. Hence, differentiation in various aspects roots this problem.

However, I am not in favour of stern ways of handling this situation. Emphasising the fact that teenagers should devote some time to parents will make them even stubborn. Alternatively, an amiable bond needs to be developed by parents with their children wherein both could share their thoughts about every aspect alike friends. This will, eventually, make parents as first friend of their kids and ultimately, kids will find spending time with parents enjoyable. Regarding this, take an example of Western countries where the children are treated and respected as adults and parent-child relationship is more like friends who call each other with their names. Thus, being companion of a child would make him/her stay with family rather than forcing.

To reiterate, it can be said that undoubtedly, a biological gap in both generations have rooted this problem that youth finds spending time with their family, a burden. Yet, I am quite certain that minor change of perspective and efforts to make each other a friend would curtail this issue.