More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It has been quite a concerning fact that the a higher count of wild animals have approached the brink of extinction while the figure of the ones which are vulnerable, is also burgeoning. The root cause of this threat is ever- increasing deforestation which can be mitigated once revolutionary measures are taken towards the provision of suitable habitat to these animals.

The principle factor responsible for the extinction is reckless logging of trees in order to meet the selfish needs of humans. In other words, land clearing is done for expanding the infrastructure whereas, at times, the timber from trees is used to enhance the aesthetics of human houses. In this case, mankind forgets that they are robbing the shelter of animals which results in their death, either due to accidents as they wander around or because of hunger. The wild animals such as Asian Elephant and Giant panda, for example, are listed as critically vulnerable since they have no place to settle or hunt. Therefore, human’s self-centric mentality has ruined the life of other creatures of this planet.

On contrary, the remedy to this issue is to establish national parks, sanctuaries and zoos for these animal where they can live peacefully. These establishments would look after the necessities related to diet which would eliminate the jeopardy of being died and further, reproduction can also take place for increasing the count. Its best example is Gir National Park which is home to hundreds of lions now after the success of conservation programmes and as per the reports of 2019, the count of lions has doubled even. Thus, secure environment for living is what these animals require.

To reiterate, it can be said that the species of wild animals are in danger because of human pursuits which go against sustainable development. Yet, if measures are taken in time by offering equal space of planet earth to these animals, biodiversity can be saved.