More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation Describe some of the problems over reliance on cars can cause and suggest at least one possible solution

Many people nowadays prefer to travel in their own vehicles rather than public transport. This has lead to many problems like traffic and pollution. To overcome this situation, government can increase the frequency and reliability of local transport system and encourage people to use public transportation on regular basis.

A major problem of using personal cars is it leads to traffic problems in a city. People often prefer to travel through their own cars in order to reach their destination at the earliest. However, as everyone thinks the same way, it has rather caused congestion on road and made it difficult for people to travel to different places in their desired time frame. Also, with increase in vehicular traffic, it has lead to increase in air pollution as well. As vehicles are the power house of carbon emission, it has affected the air quality to a great extent.

In order to manage this situation, government interference is necessary. One possible solution is to increase the frequency of transport services especially during peak hours, so it will reduce the wait time of the traveler. Increasing buses or trains may encourage people to use public transport as it assures an individual to reach their destination on time. Also, if more people use local transportation, it will directly reduce the congestion problems as less private vehicles are being used.

In conclusion, in today's fast paced life, people are often in hurry to reach their workplace. So, they usually prefer to use their private vehicles. In order to bring down these personal vehicles off the road, government should make an easy access to the public transport by increasing its frequency and encourage citizens to use them.