More and more people prefer ebooks rather than paper books. What are the reasons for this? What problems can this cause for the libraries?

Nowadays, advancement in technology has lead to invention of ebooks. It is observed that majority of people are relying on ebooks than on paper books as compared with past. As ebooks are easy to carry and affordable, however this has serious adverse effect on libraries.

Undoubtedly, ebooks have gained more popularity today as electronic opt of books are weightless. This means one can carry as many books as with them while traveling around the world. Moreover, ebooks have cut down the cost of buying hard copy of books, as e-books are available by just pressing the download tab through nominal internet charges.

Nevertheless, the disadvantages associated with it cannot be overlooked. The increasing popularity of ebooks has resulted into shutdown of many libraries. People depending on ebooks do not feel the urge of visiting library and reading books over there. For example, a recent survey has shown that libraries might be extinct in near future.

In addition, unemployment rate is profusely rising for the librarians. This is because the employer cannot affordable to pay their staff due to less influx of people. Furthermore, the maintenance cost of libraries has also increased to many folds, as latest books, magazines and journals are needed to update in library. However less number people using libraries is directly affecting the profits, hence unable to keep up the libraries for further use by people.

To recapitulate, new invention in field of technology has gifted us ebooks but this has adversely affected the libraries. Though ebooks have no weight and are pocket friendly but this may result into vanishing of libraries in coming future.