Most societies have homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money.To what extent do you agree?

Our societies these days are more differentiating the classes of people than they ever used to be. The least fortunate ones, which tend to not have homes are often sympathied and are helped financially by the ones that can. I believe, however, that apart from monetary support, they also require moral support and guidance for betterment.

Supporting such needy people in financial matters is an obligation on humanitarian grounds. It is their basic wants and needs which are in question (i.e. kitchen money for running household, health management etc). This can hence also result in unwanted situations, like such people turning to illegal ways to earn money. According to a recent research carried by Dr. John Paul at Nepal University of Social Sciences, more than half of the street muggers caught by police are these least fortunate people without homes, that fall into such crimes under household duress.

However, getting someone’s financial needs supported is not only thing needed. This calls for more than monetary support. An old proverb sums it all, “Don’t give fish to someone, teach them how to fish”. Instead of making these people dependent on society, such people are needed to be morally supported as well. So as they can think of bigger picture and become self-sufficient. There are number of other ways, they can be helped, for example, they can be employed at some factories and taught with technical skills to counteract with their needs. They can even be helped to get formal education and get employed at some office.

It is therefore, I strongly believe that this calls for much more than just financial support for these homeless people. With a little financial and moral support, these people can turn out to be a good part of a progressive society.