Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages associated with it?

More and more international companies are moving toward under developed countries for their benefits. It has resulted into escalation of employment, as the companies could get workers at low wages. However, these companies have been reported to exploit their employees by not following standard labor laws.

Multinational companies have started their office and corporate houses in poorer nations; which has resulted into exploitation of the employees. As, they do not follow international labor rules, so the workers are forced to work for more than 8 hours per day and are also not provided with overtime benefits. This has severe impact on person’s mental as well financial health. Talking about financial aspect, people are not able to cope up with daily requirement with low-income as the daily utility cost has increased compared with past. Moving toward mental factor, overtime and task achieving pressure makes people anti social and some might commit suicide as they are unable balance the personal and professional lives.

There are some benefits which cannot be overlooked. Multinational organizations upsurge the unemployment rate which is the main problem faced by developing countries. Consequently, young people can have better job opportunities and are not diverted towards crime if they do not have any job in their hands. Hence, it is benefited to poor nations both economically and socially.

Moreover, transnational companies can get better productivity by recruiting worker with less salary. For instance, apple company is able to sale their products at $499, as people of China assemble the parts of their product at Lowe salary, for which an American would charge double to accomplish the work.

To recapitulate, displacement of international companies in under developed nations aid in growth on economic scale as well as for their effective product with less capital investments. However, the government should look over the unfair treatment done on their citizens.