Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The trend of international organizations in underdeveloped countries is increasing. This will bring additional income and better employment opportunities to that country but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

There are a number of benefits associated with multinational organizations operating in underdeveloped countries. First of all, these large companies will bring a lot of tax income for the state. This can be well spent on the prosperity of the country such as solving the poverty issue or developing the infrastructure needed to advance as a nation. Secondly, multinational companies will decrease the unemployment rate of that country. This opportunity will not only provide a job for unemployed people but also improve their quality of life. It is often reported that developing countries attract such large investor companies to bring jobs in order to fight poverty.

However, the existence of international companies in underdeveloped countries has some serious drawbacks. Firstly, large companies are likely to exploit poor countries for their personal gain. Multinational companies posses high bargaining power and they know the desperation of the underdeveloped country so they use it to impose their own rules. In the fear of losing this life-saving opportunity, host country mostly agrees with their terms. In addition, the presence of multinational organizations in a country will force the local business to close. Local traders can never match the quality and price of an international company as such large companies can enjoy the economies of scale to reduce their prices. This would directly result in the closure of small businesses.

In brief, while underdeveloped countries can benefit from international companies, it can also lead to exploitation and affecting local businesses.