New technologies and ways of buying and selling are transforming the lives of consumers. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Modern day consumers are presently in an unprecedented era of transformation in the purchase of goods and services, particularly via the internet. As with all new technology, while there may be some disruption and ill-effects, I believe the Internet is having a huge impact on people’s lives.

To begin with, the Internet has created a global market with far reaching effects. An increase in competition among retailers has resulted in lower prices on many products making finding a bargain as simple as doing a Google search. A more crowded marketplace has also resulted in an increase in benefits to shoppers by retailers eager to attract more business. Nowadays, for example, free shipping and same day delivery mean it’s easier than ever to shop without leaving the home.

A further significant impact of the Internet is the rise of the savvy shopper. A plethora of online tools make it easy to find the best deal through services like price comparison apps, online product rating systems, and customer reviews. Shopping may further be done anytime day or night, and for as long as a shopper wishes to spend before purchasing, thus increasing the control consumers have over how they buy.

Finally, it’s important to consider the increase in availability brought on by the Internet. Everyday groceries that were once picked up locally can now be ordered online. Items such as fresh produce and dairy products are deliverable with the click of a button.

In conclusion, there is much evidence to suggest that shopping online is revolutionizing the buying process for consumers. With the rise of augmented reality and the ability to ‘see’ digital products in three dimensions, the Internet’s effect is likely to become even more pronounced.