News plays an important part of most people’s lives. Why is news so important to people? Why is so much news dedicated to bad news? Should the news focus on good news instead?

It has often been noticed that news is considered to be playing a significant role with majority of people. News, itself has a full form as north east west south and it gives all the information what is happening around the globe. Besides, it has often been argued that people mind is more active towards negative thoughts, so editors, nowadays are more inclined giving negative news over positives.

To begin with, it has been observed that in order to get the information of what is going to happen and is happening in our city or state, it is vital to keep a watch on news. News is not only necessary to have the knowledge of our area, but also most of the competitive exams keep one of the subject as current affairs. For example, aspirant preparing for bank probationary officer or clerk has to have the input of general knowledge. Therefore, it is mandate to read the news or watch it from any medium.

Though it has been seen that in order to increase TRP, media is now taking chance to focus on bad news rather than good one. For instance, in the situation of covid-19, when the entire medical system crashed, 80% of the channels were just busy in showing deaths and sufferings across nation. At the time of crisis people were not able to keep their mind stable. There are plethora of news agency who act according to ruling party and showcase what the party intend to do, leading to disharmony among people.

Moreover, it is mandate to make people aware of what is happening in terms of good things as well. Also, good scenes motivates people to do the same creating peaceful environment nearby. No one wants to get imbibed with bad news only. We can take an example of Airforce, army working 24 hours to supply oxygen and medicines to patient. Different NGO’s delivering food in containment zone. Personally, I believe that spreading real news is more important instead of being biased towards good or bad. Publishers should understand their responsibilities and focus on providing accurate information instead.

To conclude, I would rather say, that people rely on news for their understanding between right and wrong. So it is really important to maintain the balance by showing what is exactly happening instead just focusing on one side.