Nowadays, culture is more or less the same around the world compared to in the past. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, the increasing cultural similarity is gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the critics regarding its merits and demerits. While some people consider that it is really beneficial to the global community, I believe that it is actually bringing a lot of conflicts among our society.

To begin with, the cultural traditions of certain smaller communities are being wiped out due to the aggression of the prominent one. This means, people who belong to the bigger chunk, for example, the western culture, are always trying to uproot the minority cultures by all means. Therefore, it is not becoming a spontaneous expansion of cultures, rather it can be considered as a war against several aboriginals’ roots. Moreover, the victims of cultural hallucinations are now becoming bondingless to their own history, rituals, and everything. This, in turn, accelerating the process of cultural aggression and aggravating the disappearance of the last sign of the minority community on this earth.

On the other hand, some people agree with the school of thought that cultural openness is increasing cross border intimacy and thereby making the people more global. To them, sharing the experience is now the utmost priority which requires no boundaries. Therefore, the one world- one culture idea is gaining popularity with unprecedented speed. Furthermore, the noble concept of multiculturalism will go in vain unless the people do not understand the value of their own cultures and remain euphoric on how they are being consumed by other cultures.

All things considered, cultural difference is beneficial to maintain the originality, albeit it is somewhat barrier in exchanging views and ideas with people from the other side of the world. I personally believe the successful globalization can also be achieved without sacrificing own culture.