In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In recent years, the old-age home concept is gaining a great deal of attention throughout society and it has been a bone of contention among the critics regarding who is going to pay for the service. While some people contend that the government must take care of this issue by allocating a dedicated fund, however, I would contend that support from the family will be more customized and practical.

To begin with, the old-aged people are undoubtedly part of the family and for their livelihood, the family members must have some responsibilities both from an emotional angle as well as from the legal aspects. Therefore, whenever, they are facing some sort of detachment from the core family due to staying at the old-age home, a customized and focused care from the family may give them a psychological relief to those unfortunate grey-haired individuals. This can be exemplified by the newly developed system in Australia where the families are abode by the laws to maintain the expense who are residing at an old-age home. A survey team from some global NGOs interviewed those residents and found they are 28% more satisfied to have a minimum financial attachment with the family, resulting in a more peaceful situation for them at least. However, before this new system emerged, the expense was carried out by the government and at that time satisfaction level was only 2%, claimed by those NGOs. Moreover, every individual is different and so their need is. Therefore, fulfilling those needs might be more logical to handled by the nearest one, and in this case, the family itself can be considered as the closest point to contact. Therefore, the governmental help which might be generalized to all old-age people found to be less effective to satisfy them indeed. This has been observed in some cases in the UK where the state is funding the expenses and found to be useless in more than 50% old-home residents as their needs versus the services sanctioned from the government is totally unmatched.

However, some critics may bring the issue of affordability of the family on the discussion table and hence for those selective case, the governmental subsidies can be a resolution. Therefore, from all aspects, the family members must pay the bills from the moral and legal point of view excluding some serious situations where the government should interfere.

To recapitulate, the roles and responsibilities of the family cannot be omitted and those are staying the last few days of their life at the old-age home, expects a lot from the families. To me, the governmental steps might be considered for a few cases, but the major bindings should be on to the family.