Nowadays a lot of young people use social media.

do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, the popularity of social media is blossoming among the young generation. I believe it to be extremely beneficial not only in terms of fast communication but also provide educational benefits. This essay will explore how these two mega-advantages have the potential to outshine any of the minor drawbacks.

Social media brings forth a myriad of benefits for youngsters. Firstly, this new trend facilitates young people with an inexpensive mode of communication with friends and family who are living in far-flung areas. As many conventional means of connecting with people are much costlier as compared to social media, it gives the luxury to stay in touch at a very low cost. For example, a recent report published in the Daily times revealed that the average cost of internet package is three hundred and fifty dollars per year, while phone call charges are many-folds.

Secondly, online socializing gives the opportunity of group study to those students who are unable to visit their friend’s home. Because in the time-deprived era, online groups and communities allow students to study at home along with their other mates without leaving home. For instance, in recent times, it is mandatory for a tertiary student to join a WhatsApp group that is made by a teacher so that they can share helpful study material.

Admittedly, the only minor disadvantage that I can relate to this development is that young ones are always found glued to their smartphones since it irresistible for them to leave their phones. This burgeoning trend directly affects their academic careers, but this drawback is extremely rare and elusive and can be compensated if used for the right purpose with proper time management.

To conclude, the benefits of social media especially in terms of convenient communication and facilitating the students in the study can easily eclipse any of the drawbacks of time wastage.